Similar to kosher, Halal foods are foods that Muslims are allowed to eat or drink under Islamic Shariʻah. The criteria specify both what foods are allowed, and how the food must be prepared. Foods that are forbidden include:
- Swine/Pork and its by-products
- Animals improperly slaughtered or dead before slaughtering
- Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants
- Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals
- Foods contaminated with any of the above products
- Foods containing ingredients such as gelatin, enzymes, emulsifiers, and flavors are questionable because the origin of these ingredients is not known.
Muslims are taught through the Qu'ran that all animals should be treated with respect and well cared for, limiting the amount of pain the animal will endure. Some who are not Muslim may consume Halal meats because Halal is one of the most humane methods to slaughter animals. Foods may be certified as Halal by following the policies and procedures stipulated by law and undergoing inspection by the Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America (IFANCA), a leading Halal certifying organization in the United States.